Thursday 19 October 2017

Donabate CC students up for awards



STUDENTS AT Donabate Community College have been honoured for their endeavours over the past 12 months in both academic subhects and extra curricular activities.

The annual awards night was a terrific evening with a great atmosphere in the school with the students providing music and then the choir ending the evening's proceedings with a beautiful rendition of ' Winter Song'. Síofra Murphy was honoured with the top Junior Certificate Award having achieved 11 As in her Junior Certificate last June. Her achievements in Business, Maths and Science have placed her in the top percentage of students in the country. Síofra also recently competed in the final of the prestigious Poetry Aloud competition in the National Library. Síofra's achievements should serve as inspiration to the current Third Years who are busily preparing for their own exams. It was truly a memorable night and everybody is already llling forward to next year's Awards with excitement. ~The school would like to congratulate all the students on their fantastic achievements in the last year. The awards were: 1st Year Academic Awards: Lorna Fay, Adam Colgan, Matthew Wright, Luke Rock and Sarah McGrath. Visual Arts Award: Leon Murphy; Library Award: Amy Hollands Creative Writing Awards: 1st Year Award: Sean Leahy; Junior Award: Ghail Protacio Music Award: Hazel O'Shea Student Council Award: Matthew Molloy 2nd Year Academic Awards: Diane Pasague, Hazel O' Shea, Eoin McGleenan, Maeve Sweeney and Ghail Protacio; Parents Council Award: Neamh Maguire GAA Male Team Player Award: Dylan Knight Sands; GAA Male Player of the Year: Michael Kiernan; GAA Female Team Player Award: Kate Ryan; GAA Female Player of the Year: Lia Kenny Basketball Team Player Award: Alison Wall; Basketball Player of the Year Award: Ciara Maddy Male Sports Person of the Year: Rory McKeon; Female Sports Person of the Year: Madeleine McCarthy ICT Award: Roksana Nowicka; Culinary Award: Chris Gonzalez; G- Day Award: Brian Foley Award for Honour: Natalie Hughes Junior Certificate Academic Awards: Chloe Ryan and Roisin Rainey, Alex Philbin, Sarah Fisher and Roisin Darby, Sean Farrelly and Brian Foley, Rachel Drysdale and Kate Nolan and Siofra Murphy/