Sunday 21 September 2014

Cllr Hegarty elected committee chairman

Published 17/06/2014 | 05:30

  • Share
New municipal council meeting at council offices, Civic Square, chairman, Cllr. John Hegarty. vice chairman, Cllr. Joe Sullivan.

FINE GAEL councillor John Hegarty was elected as the first chairman of the new Gorey Municipal District Committee in Gorey Civic Offices last Tuesday afternoon.

  • Share
  • Go To

He was proposed for the post by Fianna Fáil's Malcolm Byrne who said John was an 'excellent colleague' in Wexford County Council for the previous five years. He added that it was important that all eight councillors work together for the district.

The proposal was seconded by Cllr Robert Ireton.

Independent councillor Mary Farrell asked if the Chair could be rotated among the five groupings around the table over the five years. Annette O'Neill, district director, told her the chairman is elected every year at the AGM, and she didn't think it was a 'matter for today'. 'It is a matter for yourselves every 12 months, that there will be a re-election to the chair,' she said.

'Now is the time to put in the foundations,' commented Cllr Robbie Ireton. 'It should be thrashed out now. A rotation system has worked since the foundation of the State.'

'If there's going to be demarcation within the chamber, I can see it's going the wrong way,' he added. 'Instead of using a nod and a wink, it should be fair.'

There were no other nominations, so Cllr Hegarty was elected chairman, and he took his seat at the top table.

Cllr Joe Sullivan was proposed for vice-chairman by Cllr Pip Breen. Cllr Robert Ireton proposed Cllr Mary Farrell, but she declined the offer.

Cllr Fionntán O'Suilleabháin proposed himself for vice-chairman, saying there had been a tradition of giving the vice-chairman role to the councillor who got the second highest number of votes. His nomination was proposed by Cllr Farrell.

A vote was taken, and Cllr Sullivan won, thanks to the votes of the Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael members, with Labour's Cllr Ireton abstaining.

Enniscorthy Guardian

Read More

GrabOne Deals