Tuesday 25 October 2016

Low entry but high standard in Scór na nog semi-finals

Published 04/12/2012 | 10:32

THE SEMI-FINALS of Scór na nÓg took place recently. On Thursday week, Glynn-Barntown G.A.A. complex was the venue for the quiz.

  • Go To

Unfortunately, there was a very small turn-out with only two clubs partaking - Buffers Alley and Cloughbawn. Breda Jacob was question master and the three teams qualified for the county final.

Members of the teams were - Buffers Alley 'A': Muireann Nic Corcráin, John Furlong, Leonard Lacey; Buffers Alley 'B': Sorcha Foley, Darragh Kehoe, Niall Corrigan; Cloughbawn: Cian O'Connor, Robert Kinsella, Lee Keeley. Many thanks to Glynn-Barntown G.A.A. for hosting the quiz.

The following night was the turn of the New Ross and Wexford Districts. Despite the fact that only four clubs took part, great entertainment was on offer.

In the solo singing competition, Leona O'Grady accompanied by her brother, Cian, gave a lovely rendition of 'Cúchulainn's Son'. Meanwhile, Kayleigh Moran accompanied herself on harp while singing 'Loch Sheelin Side'. Well done to both girls who qualified for the county final.

There was great competition in the instrumental music with five groups taking part. Bannow-Ballymitty were represented by two groups. Michael Martin, Shelly O'Grady, Tom Reville, Louise Colfer and Leona Reville were first on stage and gave a very lively performance.

Representing Adamstown were Aine and Niamh Doyle who played accordion and fiddle. They were followed by the Carthy sisters, Saoirse, Naoise and Ciara, from Rathgarogue-Cushinstown playing fiddle, banjo and flute.

Qualifiers to the county final were Cian O'Grady, Callie Bennett, Jane Rossiter, Anna Harpur and Kiera Reville representing Bannow-Ballymitty, and Rathgarogue-Cushinstown's Aidan, Rebecca and Emmet O'Sullivan-Ryan and Grace and Hope Barron.

The recitation competition involved competitors from Bannow-Ballymitty and Gusserane. Eimear Lacey from Gusserane performed an extract from 'The First Confession' by Frank O'Connor, while Jane Rossiter and Callie Bennett performed poems written by Philip Egan from Cork. All three competitors qualified for the county final.

Bannow-Ballymitty was the only club represented in the ballad group competition with two groups qualifying. Members of the groups were Leona Reville, Melanie Carthy, Michael Martin, Louise and Joanne Colfer, Cian O'Grady, Anna Harpur, Jane Rossiter, Callie Bennett and Mekaela Ffrench.

The final competition of the night was the novelty act, and once again Bannow-Ballymitty took to the stage. The members of the group, Louise, John, Joanne and Niamh Colfer, Jane Rossiter, Cian O'Grady, Sadhbh Kelly and Joe Sinnott, provided great entertainment for the audience and will perform 'The coming of Saorview' once again in the county final. Many thanks to Eileen Hannon who was bean an tí, and Bannow-Ballymitty G.A.A. club and hall committee for their help.

A huge crowd turned out in Oulart on the next night for the Enniscorthy and Gorey District semi-final. First competition was the solo singing. Here Ferns St. Aidan's William Bolger was first to take to the stage singing 'Red Haired Mary'.

Following this, Clodagh Kinsella representing Cloughbawn sang 'Siúl a Rúin'. Next to take the stage was Sinéad Furlong from Buffers Alley singing 'The Fields of Athenry'. Edward O'Dowd represented Oulart-The Ballagh singing 'The Spanish Lady', while Ferns St. Aidan's Caitlin Hassey sang 'The Streams of Bunclody' before Oulart-The Ballagh's Linda Murphy brought this competition to a close singing 'Boolavogue'.

There was huge interest in the instrumental music competition with 12 groups taking part. In the end it was Naomh Eanna's 'Spraoi', Aideen Byrne, Lorna Cushe, Róisín Rooney, Aoibheann Doyle and Hilda Browne, and Oulart-The Ballagh's Niamh Sinnott, Áine Sheridan, Aoife Dunne, Katie Roche and Mel Swords who qualified for the county final.

Other groups who took part were Réalt na Mara-Ballygarrett (Cathal Lee, Aine Neary, Cormac Byrne, Conor Morris, Eve O'Loughlin); Ballyhogue (Niamh O'Neill,Cian Rochford, Kate Byrne, Conor Long, Erin Fortune); Cloughbawn (James Flood, Daragh Doyle, Megan West, Emma Flood, Jessica Earle Long); Naomh Éanna (Rosie McGuckin, Niamh Cousins, Aine Doyle, Kate Millar, Rebecca Finn-Driver); Ferns St. Aidan's (Lisa Bolger, Megan Dunbar, Oran Fitzpatrick, Marceline Lawlor, Ciara Ryan); Oulart-The Ballagh (Sabrina Kehoe, Mairéad O'Brien, Louise Royce, Saoirse Dunne, Daire Swords); Buffers Alley (Andrea Kinsella, James Reilly, Chloe Harney, Lee Murphy, Stephen Furlong); Oulart-The Ballagh (Sophie Rossiter, Lorcan Nimmo, Siobhán Sinnott, Aisling Murphy, Sarah Walsh); Buffers Alley (Cathy Challoner, Lisa Doran, Saoirse O'Connor, Sinéad Furlong, Thomas Reilly); Oulart-The Ballagh (Aileen Quigley, Linda Murphy, Katie O'Brien, Niamh Dempsey).

Brónagh Hogan of Cloughbawn was the only competitor in the recitation competition and she gave a great rendition of 'The Auld Gael'.

The final competition was the ballad group, and again Naomh Éanna and Oulart-The Ballagh were winners in this category. Naomh Éanna's 'Spraoi' and Oulart-The Ballagh's Linda Murphy, Aileen Quigley, Megan Jordan and Melissa Rossiter qualified for the final.

Other groups in this category were Ferns St. Aidan's Denise Bolger, Amy Dreelan, Katie O'Toole, Ciara and Aoife Breen, and Naomh Éanna's 'Seinn'.

Well done to all clubs who took part and thanks to Oulart for hosting the event.

The county final takes place on Saturday, December 8, at 7.30 p.m. in Oulart Hall.

Read More

Promoted articles