Home-grown Irish take a shine to L&B

Published 19/07/2014 | 12:00

Drogheda and District Bridge Congress Celebrating 21 Years, Paddy Bonner the First President of the Congress and Catriona Bellew the Present President at the Westcourt Hotel Pic Jimmys People

ENTRIES from the United States were a feature of this year's East of Ireland Junior Open Championship, hosted by Laytown & Bettystown GC last Tuesday and Wednesday.

To mark the 50th anniversary of the tournament, the club's Junior Committee worked tirelessly over recent months to ensure its success and more than 150 juniors from the North East and further afield took to the links course to compete for the coveted trophies, many of which have the names of top professionals engraved on them.

The organisers welcomed players from clubs such as Ardee, County Louth, Seapoint, Black Bush, Royal Tara, Ashbourne, Clontarf, Milltown, Elm Park, Dundalk and Greenore as well as hosts Laytown & Bettystown. And for the first time ever, there were American participants as pupils from Grand Rapids Central Catholic High School, who had been holidaying in Ireland with their families, were facilitated by trip organiser Des O'Farrell.

Needless to say, Laytown & Bettystown extended a very warm welcome to their guests, and although the young American players - who are all competent golfers - found the windy links conditions somewhat of a challenge, they nevertheless coped well and recorded some good scores.

Thankfully, the golf was played in glorious sunshine for the most part and there was some impressive scoring in all age groups.

It was a memorable week in particular for 11-year-old James Quinn who won the Under-12 Traders Cup with an amazing score of 36 shots in nine holes, and having also won the Leinster GUI Under-13 nett competition in Black Bush, his handicap dropped from 28 to 19 in the space of a few days.

At the well-attended presentations held in the clubhouse on each of the two evenings, the competition's sponsor, Mark Gogarty of Mace Promotions, was thanked for supporting the tournament and club captains Ben Bailey and Mille Wade, club presidents Eamon Cooney and Hazel Lee and club pro RJ Browne were on hand to present the trophies and prizes. In his speech, Browne praised the efforts of the Junior Committee in the club and congratulated them on a very successful tournament.


Boys & Girls U-8 Pee Wee Trophy (4 holes): 1st Harley Phipps (Ardee) 19 ob2, 2nd Caoimhe O'Grady (Black Bush) 19, 3rd Daniel McKenna (L&B) 20.

Boys & Girls U-10 O'Kelly Cup (4 holes): 1st Daniel Mulligan (L&B) 16 ob2, 2nd Ethan Garvey (L&B) 16, 3rd Liam Lynch (L&B) 17.

Boys U-12 Traders Cup (9 holes - red tees): 1st James Quinn (Co Louth) 36, 2nd Robert Galligan (Elm Park) 39, 3rd Callum O'Byrne (L&B) 41.

Girls U-13 Hoey Cup (9 holes - red tees): 1st Caoimhe O'Grady (Black Bush) 54, 2nd Tegan Gordon (L&B) 56, 3rd Katie Burke (L&B) 71.

Boys U-14 Laytown & Bettystown Cup (18 holes - red tees): 1st Colm Phillips (L&B) 74, 2nd Liam Travers (Ardee) 76 ob9, 3rd Sean Doyle (Black Bush) 76.

Girls U-16 Monaghan Cup (18 holes - red tees): 1st Lucy O'Donoghue 114, 2nd Alva Rutherford 130.

Boys U-15 Joe Carr Trophy (18 holes - geen tees): 1st Ben Phipps (Ardee) 80, 2nd Alex Maguire (L&B) 83, 3rd Annraoi Collins (L&B) 84.

Boys U-19 Bettystown Trophy (18 holes - white tees): 1st Eoghan Collins (L&B) 72, 2nd David O'Byrne (L&B) 74 ob9, 3rd Sean Fanning (Co Louth) 74.

Girls U-21 Drogheda Independent Cup: 1st Rachel Taylor (L&B) 75, 2nd Ellie Metcalfe (L&B) 83, 3rd Gabrielle Wierda (USA) 86.

Drogheda Independent

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals