Mallow Utd are Cup champions

Mallow United 4 Midleton 2 (AET)

Published 02/06/2011 | 12:06

The Mallow United team celebrate their win against, Midleton, after the Cork Schoolboy League Under 12 Cup Final, at Turners Cross, Cork last Monday evening Credit: PICTURE: JIM COUGHLAN

MALLOW United are U12 Local Cup champions after a Joe Lane hat-trick gave them an extra-time win over Midleton at Turner's Cross last Monday night.

Lane struck twice in extra-time after normal time finished 2-2 after Midleton equalised in the final minute of normal time through Barry O'Callaghan.

The Magpies had gotten off to a great start when Garan Manley gave them the lead early on. Mallow equalised on the verge of half-time however, thanks to an Anthony Bowles effort.

They moved into the ascendancy at the beginning of the second half thanks to Lane's first, but O'Callaghan equalised with a fine effort in the final minute of the game to take the tie to an additional 20 minutes.

Lane and his teammates refused to let their heads drop after coming so close to winning in normal time and after Eoghan Sheehan hit the post, the striker was on hand to make it 3-2 with his second goal. He went on to score again seven minutes later to make it 4-2 and United

went on to lift the cup.

MALLOW UNITED: Mark Ring; Ronan Barrett, Dillon McAuliffe, Trevor McEvoy, John Browne; Eoghan Sheehan, Stephen O'Callaghan, Anthony Bowles, Keane Buckley; Greg Barrett, Joe Lane. Subs: Jack Creedon for R Barrett, David O'Callaghan for G Barrett, Owen Relihan for McAuliffe, Daire Cronin-Jenks for Buckley, James Lowe-Fogarty for Lane

MIDLETON: Corey Mackessy; Ross O'Connor, Stephen Roe, Cathal Martin, Padraig O'Brien; China Igboanusi, Matthew Lamb, Garan Manley, Barry O'Callaghan; Ryan O'Regan, Andrew McMahon. Subs: Rian Hogan for McMahon, Sean O'Meara for O'Brien, Jamie Clohessy for Roe, Kevin Mulcahy for O'Regan

REFEREE: Declan Merritt

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals