Thursday 27 November 2014

Daly adds icing to the cake as Newmarket take President's Cup

Andy Twomey

Published 28/04/2011 | 12:24

Denis O'Sullivan, Cork, in action against Michael Daragh McAuley, Dublin during last Sunday's National Football League Semi-final in Croke Park Credit: PICTURE: DAVID MAHER / SPORTSFILE

Neewmarket Town FC 3 Strand United 1 NEWMARKET bounced back in decisive fashion when they saw off the challenge of Strand United on a 3-1 scoreline in the President's Cup final last Sunday night. After conceding an early goal Newmarket scored three unanswered goals to claim their first major silverware in a remarkable debut season.

Both sides started well and shared a number of chances but it was Strand who seized the initiative. Strand kept possesion well and worked the ball to James O'Driscoll who crossed low for Padraig Murphy, his first time strike was stopped by Niall O'Connor but Murphy latched onto the rebound to fire Strand in front.

However, Newmarket weren't rattled and the game was all square again soon after. Newmarket made progress into the Strand box and when Tim Murphy was up ended in the box, Brian O'Riordan stepped up and rattled the net with an inch perfect spot kick.

Newmarket were now rampant and sensed that the game was there for the taking.

Man of the match Bart Daly beat Strand keeper Tomas Lacheiner in a 5050 challenge for the ball and crossed for Alan Dugdale who had the easiest of finishes.

With just minutes gone in the second half the game was effectively over as Strand were reduced to 10 men when John Healy was sent off for a very rash challenge on Nicky Flanagan. Strand were now stretched and Newmarket used their numerical adavantage to perfection as they created a number of glorious chances. They were soon 3-1 up when Bart Daly capped off an excellent team performance with a great improvised finish in the 77th minute.

There was no way back for Strand after this and the final whistle was greeted with ecstatic cheers from the hundreds of Newmarket fans who made the journey.

NEWMARKET: Niall O'Connor, Tj Bodie, Nicky Flanagan, Colin O'Sullivan, Kevin O'Connor, Trevor Murphy, Tim Murphy, Shane Murphy, Bart Daly, Alan Dugdale, Brian O'Riordan Subs: John Ryan for Alan Dugdale, Mattie Fitzpatrick for TJ Bodie, Seanie O'Connor for Nicky Flanagan

STRAND: Tomas Lacheiner, Paudie Crowley, Bart Lane, James Murphy, Padraig Murphy, James O'Driscoll, Shane Buckley, John Healy, Alan Vaughan, Tommy Buckley, Ross O'Rourke. Subs: Ian Curtin for Bart Lane, David Gaffney for Padraig Murphy, Michael Foley for Shane Buckley

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals