Sandra Keane Golf Classic played in glorious sunshine

Published 11/07/2013 | 05:26

The winning team (front) of the Sandra Keane Memorial Golf Classic played at Charleville Golf Club over last weekend was Willie Molyneaux, Jim Stapleton, Jerry Molyneaux and Danny Collins, pictured with Anne Keane, Liz Keane and Damian Keane with (at back) Peter Butler President, Charleville Golf Club, Matt Keane, Brendan Buckley, Club Captain and Margaret Deady, Lady Captain.

THE annual Sandra Keane Memorial Golf Classic, played over the magnificent Charleville parklands course in brilliant weather conditions last weekend, attracted another bumper entry in the competition which commemorates the memory of the local girl whose untimely death in 1995 cut short what would have been an impressive international golfing career.

Speakers at the presentation of prizes were introduced by Charleville Club president Peter Butler, who, along with club Captain Brendan Buckley, paid tribute to the enormous contribution of the Keane family, Matt, Anne and Sandra, during her golfing career, which promised so much but which was so cruelly cut short.

The family enjoy enormous respect from the other members of the club, which is evident in the support annually for the running the competition in memory of Sandra. The foregoing sentiments were also endorsed by the winning team captain, Jerry Molyneaux, who added that he and his team members were delighted to win the competition.

The 18 holes competition was won by the team of Jerry and Willie Molyneaux, Danny Collins and Jim Stapleton with a score of 108 points followed by Declan Mooney, John Ryan, Jerry O'Connell and Joe Lynch on 101 points.

The gross was won by Kieran Carey, Conor Slevin, Kieran Carey and John Boyle with 76 points. In forth place were Margaret Laffan, Kathleen Hayes, Teresa Flynn and Nora Neligan with 100 points and Ann O'Riordan, Joe Ryan, Bega Ryan and Tony Joyce were fifth, also with 100 points.

A feature of the event is the juvenile competition, which was 18 holes stableford, was won by Miceal Houlihan with 43 points with Jonathan O'Brien winning Category A with 43 points CB with Conor Slevin second on 43 points. Jordan Boles won category B with 44 points and Danny Conway second on 37 points.

In the girl's competition Helena Walsh was first with 40 points, while in the boy's nine holes competition, Dean Kenny won with 33 points and Oisin O'Beirne was second with 37 points.

In the girl's nine holes competition, Zara White was the winner with CSS 39 points.


Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals