Sunday 28 August 2016

Good win for Michelstown

Published 15/11/2012 | 10:46

MITCHELSTOWN captured the Brennan Cup last Friday night when they defeated the reigning Mallow after extra-time in Mallow.

  • Go To


Mitchelstown 0-18 Mallow 2- 9 aet

It was an evenly contested with the winners looking the sharper outfit in the closing stages to take the title. Mallow got off to the best possible start and inside the opening three minutes moved ahead 1-1 to 01.

They had their goal by Aaron Sheehan after good link up play by Pa Herlihy and Colin Stanton. Further pressure saw them increase their lead to six points when Colin Stanton had his sides second goal.

However, the winners regrouped well from this set back, they improved greatly in defence while at midfield the impressive Shane Cahill and Shane Beston controlled matters ensuring plenty supply up front where Michael Walsh and Stephen Fox impressed and by the end of the first quarter they trailed by 2-1 to 0-5.

Mallow responded with a point by Aaron Sheehan after good play by Hurl Dockery. Just before the break the winners finished well adding two pointed frees by Laurance O'Flynn and Michael Walsh to narrow the gap to 2-2 to 0-7 at the interval.

On the changeover, the sides were level for the first time when Fionn Herlihy's effort struck the upright and the rebound going over.

During the next few sequences of play the home-side did very well with Matthew Taylor, Billy Sheahan, Pa Herlihy and Colin Stanton to the fore and by the 38th minute they moved three clear 2-5 to 0-8. In the last quarter Mitchelstown created many chances but found scores hard to come by. However, they regrouped well and helped by three pointed frees by Michael Walsh narrowed the deficit to 26 to 0-11 entering the final moments.

'Town battled hard and they forced extra-time when Dave Dineen pointed in the dying moments to force extra time.

The opening period was keenly contested with Mitchelstown holding a slender lead after the first period 0-15 to 2-8. The well balanced Mitchelstown increased their lead in this second period with three points by Anthony O'Brien, Michael Walsh and Shane Cahill.

Mallow tried very hard to get back on terms but they only managed a single point by Pa Herlihy. Tom Brennan presented the Brennan Memorial Cup to the winning captain Laurance O'Flynn in trhe presence of Board Chairman Christy Morrissey. MITCHELSTOWN: L Hanna, G Carroll, M Maher, D Lynch, E Burke, F Herlihy 0-1, P Molloy, S Cahill 0-2, S Beston 0-1, P Magee, S Fox 0-1, M Walsh 0-9 (0-6f, 0-1 45) J Cott, L O'Flynn 0-1f, L Keane Subs: D Dineen 0-2 for P Magee, K Carroll for S Fox, A O'Brien 0-1, for J Cott. S Fox for K Carroll MALLOW: C Sheehan, B J Ryan, S Coughlan, M Murphy, B Sheahan, L Dockery, M Taylor, H Dockery 0-1f, F O'Neill, R Downey, E Stanton, P Herlihy 04 (0-2f) A Sheehan 1-1, C Stanton 1-2, A Hogan Subs: C Quilligan for C Sheehan, Noel Dinan 0-1 for H Dockery, C Manton for B Sheahan (inj) REFEREE: Michael Sheehan (Liscarroll)

Read More

Promoted articles