Timely boost for St Mary's before All-Ireland series

John Tarrant

Published 27/02/2014 | 05:26

St. Mary's Secondary School Charleville with their Cork Rebel Og Award with School Principal Anne Doherty, Eimear O'Gorman, Mary Clare O'Carroll, Meadbh Buckley and Rebecca Noonan. Photo by John Tarrant

ST Mary's Secondary School in Charleville received a timely boost ahead of their All Ireland Junior 'A' Colleges Camogie semi-final after receiving the prestigious monthly Rebel Og Award earlier this week.

Indeed, the North Cork school bring an impressive set of credentials on heading into new challenges but familiar territory on facing Ulster champions St. Marys Magherafelt on Saturday.

School Principal Anne Doherty related S t Marys hold a very proud tradition of Camogie that's enhanced on a series of magnificent achievements.

"We are indebted to all the local clubs in our catchment area and the dedication of our players and mentors especially Mr Ger O'Donovan and Mr Vincent Harrington. Since 1986 the school has won 31 All Ireland titles, seven Senior, nine Junior and fifteen 7-a-side titles. Mr Harrington has the proud distinction of being involved in all 31 titles," she said.

And it promises to be some weekend for the catchment area as Milford search for back to back All Ireland Senior Club titles in Croke Park on Sunday have 20 past pupils of the school on their panel.

Enroute to landing provincial honours, St Mary's overcame St. Marys(Lismore), a highly rated Nenagh in the semi final before sweeping past St Flannans in the Munster decider. All through the campaign, St. Mary's greater stickwork, first touch and combined play was reflected on the scoreboard in favour of the Charleville.

Team captain Mary Clare Carroll is excited on the prospect of another competitivc encounter and the chance to reach an All Ireland Final.

"We're delighted to have won the Munster Final. The girls have prepared very hard since September with our trainers Ger O'Donovan and Vincent Harrington. Everybody is hoping to take it a step further in the All Ireland semi final," she said.

The St. Mary's panel comprises Mary Clare Carroll ( Ballyhea), Chloe Ryan (Newtownshandrum), Rebecca Noonan (Granagh/Ballingarry), Meadhbh Buckley (Charleville), Niamh Killeen (Ballyhea), Aine Sheehy (Granagh/Ballingarry), Catherine O'Sullivan (Newtownshandrum), Chloe Keogh (Ballyhea), Eimear Morrissey (Granagh/Ballingarry), Rachel Harty (Ballyhea), Leah Riordan (Ballyagran), Lorna Cagney (Newtownshandrum), Tanya McNamara (Ballyagran), Cara Fitzgerald (Ballyagran), Sheila Cagney (Ballyagran), Aine O'Shea (Ballyhea), Siobhan Toomey (Granagh/Ballingarry), Ciara Buckley (Newtownshandrum), Caitlin Reynolds (Charleville), Eimear O'Gorman (Milford), Aoife Galvin (Milford), Roisin Killeen (Ballyhea), Michelle Jones (Charleville), Grainne Boles (Newtownshandrum), Fiona Neligan (Charleville), Chloe Dundon (Ballyhea), Emma Hogan (Newtownshandrum), Kate Kilcommins (Ballyhea), Beibhinn O'Neill (Newtownshandrum), Zara White (Ballyagran), Emily O'Flynn (Charleville), Caoimhe Dore (Charleville), Elizabeth Moloney (Charleville), Rachel O'Connor (Ballyhea), Sarah Hanley (Charleville), Bea Mupada (Charleville), Maire Fitzgibbon (Milford), Tiegan Kelleher (Ballyagran), Lauren Corrigan (Charleville), Caithlin Sheehan (Charleville), Ellen Murphy (Granagh/Ballingarry), Jennifer Moloney (Charleville).


Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals