Saturday 22 July 2017

Little expected between Gaels and Millstreet in U21 tie

THE lone remaining tussle to the opening round to the Duhallow U21AFC bring Millstreet and Blackwater Gaels to Millstreet this Friday evening.

It holds the prospect of a competitive encounter and a renewal of the 2012 decider clash between the two sides. After claiming back to back titles, Millstreet failed in their efforts to land a three in a row last season.

Their current side is built around Kevin Crowley, Alan Murphy, Beircheart O'Connor, Len Murphy and Paul Sheehan. Opponents Blackwater Gaels look to make further inroads on a competitive championship. The efforts of the Cullen and Lyre formation centre round the involvement of Sean Fleming, Brian O'Connell, Gearóid Twomey and Tomás O'Keeffe, There is enough to suggest of a close battle looming between the pair.

The Ducon Cup is slow to make inroads yet Lyre will be keen to maintain winning ways from an away trip to Kiskeam . Holders Knocknagree make their seasonal debut on a home clash against against Boherbue. Kilbrin their own in the opening half against Lyre but require greater consistency from a visit to seasonal debutants Millstreet. Meanwhile, hosts Dromtariffe and Cullen lock horns for a wide open tussle in the first competitive game of the season for both clubs.

The draws for the Kanturk Credit Union JAFC and Kanturk Co-Op Mart JAHC take place at a Board Meeting in Kanturk on Monday night at 8pm.

Indoors, Boherbue seek All Ireland Scór na nOg honours for the 8th consecutive season in Castlebar on Saturday. To dominate over the past seven years is a remarkable achievement. The 2014 contingent sees a Figure Dance group of Claire Ahern, Ruth Cremin, Katie O'Sullivan, Ide Marie Herlihy, Lena Sheehan , Cliodhna Ducey, Lisa O'Keeffe and Beatrice Casey seek to retain national honours. Boherbue are doubly represented, their ballad group of Kate O'Gorman, Marie O'Gorman, Megan Kiely, Marguerite Hickey and Grace Leader seek out a first time triumph.


Promoted articles