Saturday 23 August 2014

Kilworth hold out to take title in close finish

Published 04/04/2013 | 05:26

  • Share
Jubilant Kilworth captain, Will Condon, raises the North Cork U21 B football trophy after his side won a thrilling final in Castletownroche last weekend. Photo: Eric Barry

Under 21 B FC final

  • Share
  • Go To

Kilworth 1-8

Buttevant 1-7

BUTTEVANT with a great late fightback in the Under 21 B FC final were caught with the final whistle being a point short in their clash with Kilworth in the O' Sullivan-Lewis Under 21 B FC final at Castletownroche on Saturday.

Buttevant did very well in the opening 10 minutes and also in the last 10 minutes. In between Kilworth dominated and they built up a sizable lead. Early on against the wind Buttevant looked very promising and had the opening two points by Brian O'Shaughnessy and Sean Madigan free. Kilworth got up to the task with Nathan Byrne, Sean Keane and Will Condon coming strong and they had five points on-the-trot before the break without reply by Brian Sheehan, Sean Keane Nathan Byrne (two 45s) and Aidan Condon to be 0-5 to 0-2 clear at the break.

Kilworth again did well on the restart with Eoin Condon placing Brian Sheehan for another point. Both sides had some wides before Kilworth moved seven points clear in the 48th minute when Sean Keane goaled after a four man movement 1-6 to 0-2. Buttevant introduced three substitutes they improved immensely. Sean Madigan now in attack was very impressive and they had points by Madigan and O'Shaughnessy. Kilworth replied with two excellent points by Noel McNamara to regain the seven point advantage.

In the closing five minutes Buttevant first were denied a goal by the post. A goal and three points, the goal by Darragh O'Keeffe had the lead down to a point in injury time. They were unable to get on terms and it was Kilworth who held out by the narrowest of margins.

After the game Martin O'Sullivan, O'Sullivan-Lewis sponsors presented the cup to the winning captain Will Condon in the presence of John O'Donnell Board Chairman. Sean Keane was named 'man of the match'.

KILWORTH: M Dunne, G McCarthy, K Twomey, D Twomey, Shane Keane, N Byrne 0-2 45s, D Mannix, Sean Keane 1-1, W Condon, James McCarthy, A Condon 0-1, J Condon, B Sheehan 0-2, N McNamara 0-2 E Condon. Sub Jason McCarthy for E Condon

BUTTEVANT: S Walsh, I Barry, M Murphy, S Flynn, J Buckley, A O'Sullivan, S Madigan 0-4f, A O'Neill, L Ring, D Quinn, C Cole, T Cullen, B O'Shaughnessy 0-3, D O'Keeffe 1-0, C Jones, Subs D Walsh for D Quinn, A Noonan for C Cole, M Broe for C Jones, N Cullen for L Ring

Referee: John O'Leary (Mallow)


Read More

GrabOne Deals