Saturday 22 October 2016

Clyda Rovers celebrate a hugely successful year

Published 27/02/2014 | 05:26

Ciara O’Sullivan and Clare O’Connell at the Clyda Rovers vctory dinner dance in Springfort Hall.
Ciara O’Sullivan and Clare O’Connell at the Clyda Rovers vctory dinner dance in Springfort Hall.
Pa Forde, Oliver O’Hanlon and Gerry O’Donoughue thrilled with the Junior B and Premier Intermediate Football success of Clyda Rovers.
Michael and Marie Corbett enjoyed the Clyda Rovers Victory Dinner Dance
Killavullen ladies Rebecca Larkin and Catherine Coakley attended the Clyda Rovers Victory Dinner Dance
Rose O'Donoughue and Julie Green from Mourneabbey attended the Clyda Rovers Victory Dinner Dance
Maire and Miriam O’Callaghan along with Doireann O’Sullivan attended the Clyda Rovers Victory Dinner Dance in Springfort Hall. Photos by John Tarrant

ALMOST 300 people were present at Springfort Hall, on Saturday night for Clyda Rovers GAA Victory Social.

  • Go To

It marked a great year for the club whose ladies won the Munster Senior Plate title with the Intermediate footballers winning the County Premier and Munster IFC titles. The Under 21 B hurlers were also honoured having won the Divisional title along with the Minor C hurlers and footballers who won the championship double along with a league success as well as the Junior B football team who also won their championship.

Special guests were Martin Kiely, RTE Radio, Conor Counihan, former Cork senior football team manager, Michael Byrne, County Board Development Officer, as well Avondhu Board Chairman John O'Donnell, Secretary Denis Twomey and Cultural Officer Paddy Ryan.

The early presentation were to the ladies football side who won the Munster Plate title. A presentation was made to Conor O'Sullivan who won a Munster MFC medal with Cork two years ago. The club person of the Year award for the John Stack Memorial trophy went to Johnny Walsh Manager of the team that won the County IFC and Munster title. John Walsh also won this title in '99. The team that won the County and Munster title in 2013 had four Under 21 players in their side. The Player of the Year award for the Joe Walsh trophy went to Fionn O'Shea who had an outstanding season. Chris Buckley and Chris Kenny were winners of the player of the year for 2012 and were also honoured.

Five members of the Mourneabbey Ladies football side who won All Ireland Senior medals with Cork were also made presentations - Doireann O'Sullivan, Ciara O'Sullivan, Roisin O'Sullivan, Maura O'Callaghan and Brid O'Sullivan.

Paudie Kissane and Ray Carey were members of the Cork senior football side that won the All Ireland SFC title in 2009, Paudie was an All Star winner in 2010. These presentations were made by Conor Counihan.

John O'Donnell, Chairman Avondhu Board, paid tribute to the great achievements of the club over the past 30 to 40 years. He spoke of all Clyda teams who perform to the best of their ability at all times.

Denis Twomey Board Secretary presented the Under 21 B HC medals to the panel who won the Divisonal title in 2012 and 2013.

Michael Byrne, County Board Development Officer paid tribute to the club Officers on their fine facilities.

He paid tribute to the great work of County board delegates John Roche and Derry Murphy and also made mention of the great contribution of Tom Dorgan over many years with the County Board.

The Junior B footballers that included six Intermediates were next to get their medals

Conor Counihan former Cork coach thanked the Clyda club for the invitation. He spoke of the great memories he had over the years playing as Clyda Rovers. He thanked John Roche and the Clyda Rovers club for making their pitch available for Cork training often at short notice. He spoke of the great contribution made by Clyda players Ray Carey and Paudie Kissane to Cork. He complimented the club on winning the County Premier IFC after losing three county finals in a row.

He then presented the County and Munster medals to the Intermediate panel. A presentation to made to Ned English (coach) selectors Brian Flanagan, Cormac O'Sullivan, Johnny Walsh, Jerry O'Sullivan as well as statistician Fergal Cronin and video man Noel Walsh.

Jeremiah Ronayne club Chairman in his concluding address spoke of Clyda Rovers GAA who was formed in 1947. He spoke of the great community spirit. He thanked all for their help and support during the year and looked forward to the 2014 playing season.


Read More

Promoted articles