Wednesday 20 August 2014

Mitchelstown man wins top award of the year at local club

Published 06/06/2013 | 05:26

  • Share
Bill Power receiving his award from Neily Curtin, Competition Secretary, Mallow Camera Club. Photo: Patrick T Sheehan.

A MITCHELSTOWN man has won Photographer of the Year in the annual awards at Mallow Camera Club.

  • Share
  • Go To

Bill Power won the top annual award in the club and he also won the trophy for best colour print and another for best monochrome panel. Each member of the club was allowed enter up to twelve images in the Photographer of the Year Competition, with the marks of each entrant's five highest scoring images being used to determine the overall award.

Adjudication was undertaken by Cork photographers Michael O'Sullivan, Niamh Whitty and Martin Duggan.

The results are as follows, Photographer of the Year 2013 - Bill Power, AIPF. 2nd Viv Buckley, LIPF; 3rd Aisling O'Connor, LIPF.

Best Colour Print - Bill Power, AIPF Best Monochrome Panel (five highest scored images) - Bill Power, AIPF. Beginner/ Novice Photographer of the Year 1st Jer Buckley; 2nd Paul Tips: 3rd Peggy O'Brien.

Intermediate Photographer of the Year 1st Viv Buckley, LIPF; 2nd Aisling O'Connor, LIPF; 3rd Pat Sheehan.

Mallow Camera Club wishes to thank the judges and special thanks to the entrants for the time and effort they put into preparing their images for the event. There was an excellent range of images on display. Special thanks also to competition secretary Neily Curtin, for all the work he put in to organising the event which ran smoothly and without a hitch.

The camera club is now in recess for the summer months and will resume in September. Meanwhile the committee will remain busy throughout the coming months putting together a programme for the upcoming season.


Read More

GrabOne Deals