Friday 21 October 2016

Memories 'down the lawn'

Published 20/12/2012 | 20:50

Millstreet Town Park Comimttee will celebrate the launch of 'Down the Lawn: A History of Millstreet Town Park' on Friday night. Credit: Photo by John Tarrant
Millstreet Town Park Comimttee will celebrate the launch of 'Down the Lawn: A History of Millstreet Town Park' on Friday night. Credit: Photo by John Tarrant

GREAT memories are not forgotton and the dream to publish a history of Millstreet landmark, its Town Park becomes a reality at an offical launch in Corkery's Bar on this Friday night between 7 and 8pm.

  • Go To

The commemorative book "Down the lawn, A History of Millstreet Town Park" dwells back on more than 50 years with proceeds from the publication going to the local St. Vincent de Paul branch.

Steeped in history, the Park's opening was a milestone for the Milllstreet community and all credit to the founders on their foresight and illustrating their commitment to future generations. That's captured in the facinating chronicle edited by Sineád Corkery with numrous articles matched by a pictorial commentary of individuals and teams.

A Committee was formed in 1955 with a view to acquiring part of the McCarthy O'Leary estate for the people of the town and district.

That pioneering committee consisted of Rev. Denis Curran CC. Denis J. Buckley, John Phillips, Patrick Cashman, John Murphy, Richard Kiely, Jeremiah Corcoran, Thady O'Driscoll, Denis J Hickey, Patrick Coleman, Matthew O'Sullivan, Denis Kelleher, Patrick O'Flynn, Robert Justice, Daniel Kelleher, Denis McSweeney and Denis Duggan.

Just over 13 acres were purchased from Thomas Horgan in 1956, the original trustees were Richard Kiely, Patrick O'Flynn and Daniel Kelleher.

The rules and regulations for the management of the park were adopted at a meeting in January 1957.

Officership wise, John Murphy was the first secretary, succeeded by Pat Kelly and current incumberant is John O'Keeffe.

Rev. Denis Curran C.C. became the first chairman, succeeded by Denny Twomey and present holder William O'Leary. Patrick O'Flynn assumedd the position of first treasurer followed by Cormac Dineen and daughter Maura.

Denny Twomey and Cormac Dineen were also appointed trustees.

In 1994 a local lotto was formed in conjunction with the Youth Amenity fund and this has proved to be a tremendous success, responsible for funding significant improvements within the Town Park that have taken place over the years with a focus on children's playground to tarmac roadways, lighting, seating and much more evident.

Millstreet Town Park is home to many organisations and groups from the GAA, camogie, soccer, pitch and putt, athletics and coursing in addition to diverse recreational activity shared by young and old.

"Down the lawn, A History of Millatreet Town Park" is priced at €10 per copy. Friends and associates are invited to the launch on Friday night or copies can be puchased from local supermarkets or Wordsworth Book shop. Proceeds go to St. Vincent de Paul.

Read More

Promoted articles