Wednesday 1 October 2014

Cork GAA draw has notched up €18m


Published 04/07/2013 | 05:26

  • Share
Pictured at the Cork GAA Clubs Draw in Millstreet were Con Hartnett, Norma Nagle, Pearse Murphy, Michael Healy, Sharon Lane, Michael Cleary, Martin Corcoran, John Coleman and Jerry Doody. Photo: John Tarrant

THE Cork GAA Clubs Draw is among the organisation's most important sources of fundraising for clubs across Cork, having taken in €18m over the past 21 years.

  • Share
  • Go To

And in Millstreet last Thursday there were a few other notable winners, too, as subscribers from Mitchelstown, Ballyhooly and Kiskeam were among the top prizes at the draw in Coleman's.

Winning the top prize of a Kia Rio Car was John Walsh from the Mitchelstown club. Breeda O'Neil from Ballyhooly picked up €4,000 while Kiskeam's Ned and Maura O'Mahony collected a cool €1,500

The GAA Clubs Draw is close to completing 21 years with sales benefiting clubs countywide. County Board Treasurer Pearse Murphy commended Millstreet on their support and paid tribute to the club's subscribers and Duhallow in general.

"The draw commenced in 1992, and has been an outstanding success with the clubs throughout the county making a staggering €18m and €1.5 million coming to Duhallow clubs", he said as he thanked Coleman's for their involvement.

The funds raised help promote coaching and youth development throughout the county, added Mr Murphy, in addition to raising finance for club development and back playing activity.

As John Coleman welcomed the GAA officials, Brendan Barry with Millstreet club officers Sharon Lane and Martin Corcoran along with club co-ordinators Michael Healy and Michael Cleary drew the lucky winners.

Winning Laptop/LCD TVs on the night were Joan Walker supporting Kanturk and James/Breeda Guinee of Lismire. Weekend break recipients included Paul O'Rourke, Aghabullogue, Paddy Curtin, Meelin and Siobhain O'Leary, Macroom.

Locals taking €175 were Pat O'Regan, Castlelyons and Ben O'Sullivan, Freemount with additional €150 prizes confined to Duhallow recipients Laura and Sarah Dennehy, Millstreet; Donie J Murphy, Banteer; Eileen and Johnny Lane, Kiskeam; Sean Dineen, Lismire) and David Linehan Castlemagner.


Read More

GrabOne Deals