Wednesday 17 September 2014

Boherbue take trip down memory lane

Published 21/03/2013 | 05:26

  • Share
Associates of the team that brought glory to Boherbue on winning the 1988 Duhallow Junior A Football Championship were selectors and club officers. Included are Clare Casey, Frank O'Sullivan, Noreen Casey representing her late husband John, Elaine Casey. Peadar O'Callaghan, Joe McCarthy, Noel Fitzgerald and Donal Barry. Photo: John Tarrant

MEMORIES of Boherbue's memorable win in the 1988 Duhallow Junior A Football Championship were recalled at a pleasant function in the Dromhall Hotel, Killarney..

  • Share
  • Go To

220 patrons attended, the atmosphere brightened in a function room bedecked in green and gold balloons. And the future looks extremely bright given the success of minor and Under 21 teams from the past season.

Club chairman Colm O'Connor congratulated all concerned within the club for maintaining a consistent run in Scór and rewarded on national glory once again on outright success in Derry.

"It takes terrific dedication from the participants but all credit to co-ordinators Marie Casey and Margaret Kiely for their phenomenal work on guiding our teams to ongoing successes," he said.

On the field of play, it proved a rewarding season for Boherbue, collecting the Duhallow U-21 B Football Championship, a county non exam minor football league title and runner up place to Kiltha Óg in the Co. Premier 2 Minor Football Championship.

"The propects are good for the future with promising teams coming on board. And with 76 players involved from u16 downwards, fingers are crossed that the success rate continues," he said.

Colm lauded the 1988 side, the last team from Boherbue to collect a much sought Duhallow Junior chanpionship title and the special reunion of past colleagues proved an outstanding success.

"Both young and old have turned out to mix and enjoy the occasion. Hopefully that triumphant side frrom 1988 will be the inspiration for 2013 teams. And the people previously associated with Boherbue that have moved on may well renew their allegiences with the club," he said.

In a night of nostalgia, 1988 manager Frank O'Sullivan spoke of the special occasion tinged with some sadness.

"What a really enjoyable night but some of the boys involved from 1988 are not with us, we remember especially the late Donal Vaughan, Tadghie Shine and the recent passing of John Casey. However, many players have it from all parts of Ireland and across the sea," he said.

Frank held a special affiinity with the 1988 and built up lifelong friendships from school days.

"I was manager of the Junior side for three years but I was involved with the majority of the players from their u12/14 football days. They were a great squad, unbelieveable committment, maybe some mischief but we had Fr John Fitzgerald on board to keep a lid on matters," he said.

Frank is hopeful that Boherbue can return to winning ways and repeat the glorious triumph from twenty five years ago.

"Prior to 1988, Boherbue had under performed on a number of occasions and subsequently, they were somewhat unlucky. With a great crop of young players surfacing, Boher' have the potential to succeed," he concluded.

Winning teams received medals, the 1988 side, the recipients of a photogrraphic momento while the prestigous Billy McAulliffe Memorial Trophy for Clubman of the Year was presented to minor football manager John Murphy.


Read More

GrabOne Deals