Slip offers rivals a glimmer of hope

Published 07/08/2013 | 05:20

Ger Rafferty, St Dominics, and Craig Dixon, Muirhevnamor Youths, battle it out in midfield during their high-scoring Summer League match in Muirhevnamor on Thursday.

DESPITE a surprise draw against lowly Seatown, Muirhevnamor are firmly on course to tighten their stranglehold on the Dundalk Junior League and win the title yet again.

They killed off the hopes of Shamrock Youths last Tuesday, only then to be held by Seatown on Thursday night to leave Shamrocks as the only side with a realistic chance of wrestling the title from them.

Shamrocks prevailed in the all-Fatima encounter with their Youths side also on Thursday night, winning by the odd goal in five.

Muirhevnamor Youths, strong challengers for so long, suffered a mortal blow to their chances, losing 5-3 to St Dominic's also on Thursday which could be a defining night in the title race.

It was also when Redeemer went on a goal rampage, scoring 10 against bottom club Dundalk International. The latter decisively lost to Seatown in the bottom-of-the-table clash on Tuesday night to widen the gap to eight points between the teams. Michael Ololuo netted a brace, and Stefan Ziokapa, Saheed Ogunfowora and David Asare scored one goal each for Seatown. Ola Sadiku and Datis Miloslawski were on target for the losers.

Rampart Celtic came out on top against Bay United in another meeting between two teams in the lower half of the table that produced eight goals. Aiden McGuinness scored twice for Rampart, whose other goals were shared by Ryan Keenan, Jamie Kelly and Jason Mulligan. Jeff Ekeoue struck twice for Bay and Stephen McQuillan nabbed their other goal.


Tuesday: Muirhevnamor 3 (Mickey O'Kane 3) Shamrock Youths 0; Dundalk Inter 2 (Ola Sadiku, Datis Miloslawski) Seatown 5 (Michael Ololuo 2, Stefan Ziokapa, Saheed Ogunfowora, David Asare).

Wednesday: Bay United 3 (Jeff Ekeoue 2, Stephen McQuillan) Rampart Celtic 5 (Aiden McGuinness 2, Ryan Keenan, Jamie Kelly, Jason Mulligan).

Thursday: Muirhevnamor Youths 3 (Andy Gray, Brendan Hughes, Padraig Smith) St Dominic's 5 (Ger Rafferty, 2, Kevin O'Hanlon, Joe Needham, David Maloney); Seatown 1 (Stefan Ziokapa) Muirhevnamor 1 (Paudie Hearty); Shamrock Youths 2 (Daithi O'Connor, Ciaran Clarke) Shamrocks 3 (Martin Murphy, Kyle McEvoy, Cathal McGlade); Redeemer United 10 (Barry Carr 2, Aidan Grimes, Dean Sheils, Paul Conway, Barry Grimes, Niall Kelly, Conor Smith, Woiteck Gladzy) Dundalk International 1 (Gatis Miloslawski).

The Argus

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals