News Off the Ball

Monday 15 September 2014

Ref had no option in Feeney 'black' moment

Colm Parkinson

Published 19/03/2014 | 02:30

  • Share
17 March 2014; Richie Feeney, Castlebar Mitchels, is shown a 'black card' by referee Eddie Kinsella early the game. AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Club Championship Final, Castlebar Mitchels, Mayo, v St Vincent's, Dublin. Croke Park, Dublin. Picture credit: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE
Castlebar's Richie Feeney is shown a black card by referee Eddie Kinsella in the early stages of Monday's club final

What on earth was Richie Feeney thinking?

  • Share
  • Go To

The only valid criticism of the black card so far is that, on occasion, referees need to make a judgment call as to whether there's been a genuine or deliberate foul.

This can be a grey area when you consider a lot of referees don't have a real understanding of the game. The one foul that falls under the 'black' umbrella where there is no ambiguity whatsoever, is the 'deliberate body collide'.

What Feeney did was stupid. A county player should be leading by example, not getting sent off four minutes into an All-Ireland club final for a deliberate body check straight in front of the referee.

We had some fun on the show last week making up a mock AIB advertisement detailing my hard luck story in the All-Ireland club finals. It didn't take long for someone to outdo my story.

Richie Feeney

0 All-Irelands

0 All Stars

0 Club All-Irelands (and black-carded after 4 minutes in a club All-Ireland final)

#thetoughest

Irish Independent

Read More

Don't Miss

Editor's Choice