Spring to attention in Co Limerick
Published 01/08/2014 | 02:30
Spring Lodge, an ivy-clad country house at Kilfinane in South County Limerick, is mentioned in Samuel Lewis's 1837 Topographical Dictionary of Ireland as one of the principal seats in the parish.
Lewis also mentions "a fine sulphuro-chalybeate spring of great efficacy in cutaneous disease" east of the town. This spring may be what gave the house its name.
If so, its health-giving effects certainly seem to have worked on the most recent inhabitant of Spring Lodge. Jo Connery died in March, just short of her 96th birthday, and by all accounts was still charming the neighbourhood and playing a blinder in bridge tournaments until almost the last moment.
Spring Lodge appears on the early ordnance survey maps, close to the site of the town's old mill, which was destroyed by fire in 1940. It's on a site of 10 acres, bounded on the western side by the stream that used to serve the mill.
The 2,500-square-foot house is thought to date from the late 18th or early 19th Century, and is listed in Limerick County Council's record of protected structures. It has, however, been altered already by the addition of a single-storey 495-square-foot extension consisting of a kitchen and bedroom.
The house is on two storeys over a basement, and has two reception rooms, two kitchens, five bedrooms, two bathrooms and a three-roomed attic, as well as the basement. All the rooms could do with a little updating. There is also a concrete yard with outbuildings and cattle sheds, as well as an old stone building.
Spring Lodge is less than 10 minutes' walk from the village of Kilfinane, which is itself about 40 kilometres from Limerick city.
The joint agents are Colliers International (01 633 3700) and DJ Hayes Auctioneers in Kilfinane (063 91151), and the asking price is €375,000.