Thursday 30 October 2014

Top producers honoured at food awards

Published 27/05/2014 | 02:30

Wade Murphy, Toby Simmonds, Mick Healy, Marjorie O’Malley, Mark Cribben, Ed Hick and Evan Doyle.

FIVE producers of exotic farm and dairy products were honoured for their quality at the EirGrid Euro-Toques Food Awards 2014 yesterday.

The recipients of the awards – at a gala lunch at The Residence Club in Dublin yesterday – included Cork dairy farmers Toby Simmonds and Johnny Lynch for their traditional mozzarella cheese and Ed Hick of J Hick & Sons for their smoked wild venison.

Also honoured were Lucy Deegan and Mark Cribben of Ballyhoura Mountain Mushrooms in Co Cork for their specialty mushrooms, Marjorie and Kieran O'Malley of Achill Island Sea Salt and Mick Healy of Wild Irish Game Ltd in Co Wicklow.

They were selected by 160 of Ireland's top chefs for what they called "rare gems in the Irish culinary scene".

Irish Independent

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

Editors Choice

Also in Life