Sunday 28 December 2014

Student journalist of year wins on the double

Published 22/04/2010 | 05:00

Caitriona Laverty (left) of the UCD's 'University Observer' was named Editor of the Year at the 10th anniversary National Student Media Awards last night. Pictured with her are runner-ups David Molloy of TCD's 'Trinity News', Cathy Buckmaster and Philip Connolly of UCD's 'The College Tribune', Robert Donohoe of TCD's 'The University Times' and Gareth McGreevy, from the students' union of Queen's University, Belfast
Samuel Hamilton won Journalist of the Year

A former Irish Independent exam diarist last night scooped two gongs at a media awards ceremony.

DCU student Samuel Hamilton, who kept Irish Independent readers informed about his trials and tribulations during the 2007 Leaving Certificate, took the Journalist of the Year and Magazine of the Year prizes at the 10th National Student Media Awards in Dublin's Mansion House.

Irish Independent education editor John Walshe presented Samuel, a former pupil of Patrician College in Newbridge, Co Kildare, with the award for his work on DCU magazine 'Flux'.

Caitriona Laverty, of the UCD 'University Observer', won the Editor of the Year award, sponsored by the Irish Independent and judged by Mr Walshe.

A native of Stranorlar, Co Donegal, she won the praise of Mr Walshe for her work on the "classy publication".

More than 600 students and media personalities attended the event, dubbed the Smedias. 'Sunday Tribune' editor Noirin Hegarty and her 'Irish Times' counterpart Geraldine Kennedy were among the judges for the 33 categories to honour excellence in student media.

DCU was a big winner on the night as the college claimed 10 prizes, including another double winner -- as well as Samuel Hamilton -- Stephen Mangan took Sports Writer of the Year and Features Writer of the Year.

Irish Independent

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

Editors Choice

Also in Life