Vatican bans gluten-free Communion
The Catholic Church has banned the use of gluten-free Communion hosts.
Catholics who suffer from coeliac disease will be at a loss following the new Vatican ruling. It was announced in a letter to bishops by Cardinal Robert Sarah, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Sacraments.
In a letter to bishops, Cardinal Robert Sarah said the bread could be low-gluten, but there must be enough protein in the wheat to make it without additives. However communion bread can still be made with genetically modified organisms.
The new rules were needed because the bread was now sold in supermarkets and on the internet, the cardinal said.The wine used must also be "natural".