Wednesday 17 December 2014

President to get the Freedom of Cork

Published 25/03/2014 | 02:30

The first state visit of an Irish President by Michael D Higginss to Great Britain is an event charged with symbolism
President Michael D. Higgins

President Michael D Higgins is to be honoured with the Freedom of Cork.

The President will receive the honour after Lord Mayor Cllr Catherine Clancy (Lab) formally nominated his candidacy to Cork City Council.

Mr Higgins will now receive the award in keeping with Cork's long-standing tradition of honouring Irish presidents.

Four of Mr Higgins's predecessors have received the honour while in Aras an Uachtarain including Sean T O'Kelly (1947), Eamon de Valera (1973), Mary Robinson (1991) and Mary McAleese (2006).

The ceremony is expected to be held in May.

The Freedom of Cork is the City Council's highest award and previous recipients include President John F Kennedy, Peter Barry, Albert Reynolds and dance star Michael Flatley.

Irish Independent

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News