Wednesday 20 September 2017

President Higgins appoints two judges to High Court

Lise Hand

Lise Hand

President Higgins today appointed two new judges to the High Court. At a ceremony in Aras an Uachtaran this morning, the Warrants of Appointment for Mr Anthony Barr SC and Mr David Keane SC were signed by the President and Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore.

Also present at the signing were attorney general Marie Whelan and Justice Minister Alan Shatter. The two appointments were made to fill vacancies arising from the retirements of Mr Justice Daniel O'Keeffe and Mr Justice Roderick Murphy.

Judge Anthony Barr worked for six years on the Morris Tribunal, while Judge David Keane is a former solicitor and lawyer based at the Chief State Solicitor's Office.

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News