Wednesday 28 September 2016

James Reilly gets the nod as Taoiseach appoints six former TDs to Seanad

Barry Lennon

Published 27/05/2016 | 17:55

James Reilly
James Reilly
Paudie Coffey Photo: Damien Eagers
Ray Butler
Frank Feighan
John O'Mahony
Michelle Mulherin. Photo: Tom Burke

Taoiseach Enda Kenny has appointed six former TDs to the Seanad as part of his nominees for the Upper-House.

  • Go To

Former Health and Children’s Minister James Reilly is among the new appointees to the Senate following his General Election disaster.

The other former Fine Gael deputies are Paudie Coffey (Waterford), Ray Butler (Meath West), Frank Feighan (Roscommon- South Leitrim), John O’Mahony (Mayo) and Michelle Mulherin  (Mayo).

Marie-Louise O’Donell is the only Independent senator that Mr Kenny has chosen to reappoint to the 25th Seanad.

Non-politicians appointed include Pieta House Founder Joan Freeman, Irish emigrate advocate Billy Lawless, Colette Kelleher the chief executive of Alzheimers Ireland and businessman Pádraig Ó’Céidigh.

Ms Freeman this afternoon told RTÉ Radio she is one of three Senators chosen by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editors Choice

Also in this section