Wednesday 26 July 2017

FG Dublin Bay South delegates select Eoghan Murphy and Kate O'Connell as GE team

Kate O'Connell
Kate O'Connell
Eoghan Murphy

Daniel McConnell Group Political Correspondent

Fine Gael delegates in Dublin Bay South have selected sitting TD Eoghan Murphy and Cllr Kate O'Connell as their team for the General Election.

At a selection convention tonight, the pair went up against Cllr Kieran Binchy and Linda O'Shea Farren.

The selection of Cllr O'Connell means she replaces former junior minister Lucinda Creighton on the Fine Gael General Election ticket.

Ms Creighton is now leader of Renua Ireland having been expelled from Fine Gael in July 2013.

Eoghan Murphy
Eoghan Murphy

The constituency of Dublin Bay South replaces the old Dublin South East constituency and will be a four-seater.

At the meeting before the vote, Junior Finance Minister Simon Harris spoke to delegates about the importance of the next General Election for the economy.

Speaking to, Mr Murphy said he was very grateful to the members of the party for their continued support.

"I am looking forward to running with Kate and winning a second seat," he said.

Online Editors

Promoted articles

Also in this section