Monday 21 April 2014

EU presidency: Taoiseach, Tanaiste and nine ministers travel to Brussels

THE Government will step up the groundwork for Ireland's EU presidency tomorrow with a mass contingent of ministers travelling to Brussels.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny, Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore and nine ministers will jet off for a day of meetings with European Commission president Jose Manuel Barroso.

Government ministers will also meet with European Commissioners relevant to their departments to discuss their priorities for Ireland's term during the first six months of 2013.

Finance Minister Michael Noonan will be among the 11 Cabinet members to take the day-long trip to Brussels.

A spokesman for the minister insisted only EU presidential matters will be considered - as opposed to Mr Noonan's usual finance, debt and banking-related business in the Belgian capital.

"Minister Noonan will be travelling to Brussels tomorrow with his Cabinet colleagues to meet European Commissioners and President Barroso as part of our area of the upcoming presidency in January," said a spokesman.

"This will give us the opportunity to discuss our priorities for the upcoming presidency."

Mr Kenny, Mr Gilmore and Mr Noonan will be joined by Public Expenditure Minister Brendan Howlin, Jobs Minister Richard Bruton, Social Protection Minister Joan Burton, Communications Minister Pat Rabbitte, Environment Minister Phil Hogan, Agriculture Minister Simon Coveney, Transport Minister Leo Varadkar and Minister of State for European Affairs Lucinda Creighton.

The only Government departments to stay behind are arts, children, defence and justice, education and health.

Also in this Section




Meet, chat and connect with
singles in your area


Meet Singles Now



Now available on on Twitter


Most Read

Daily Deals

Independent Gallery

Your photos

Send us your weather photos promo

Celebrity News