Wednesday 25 May 2016

Offaly Birr Area: Update

Published 24/05/2014 | 23:35

WITH just six of the 19 seats in Offaly filled, Sinn Fein, Fianna Fail and Independents have taken two each.

Brendan Killeavy, Tullamore and Martin O'Reilly have become the first Sinn Fein candidates to be elected to Offaly County Council since 1923.

Two outgoing Fianna Fail councillors, Eddie Fitzpatrick, Edenderry and Peter Ormond, Birr, have been returned.

Independent councillor John Leahy won the first seat by topping the poll in the Birr Area and Dervill Dolan, Independent, was re-elected in the Tullamore Area.

Sinn Fein are on course for a third seat with Carol Nolan in the Birr Area while Fianna Fail are aiming to win a total of nine seats - the same number they won in 2009 when there were 21 seats available.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News