News Results

Wednesday 27 August 2014

Galway: Galway County's longest-serving councillor Michael Fahy regains his seat

Declan Rooney

Published 25/05/2014 | 22:23

  • Share

Galway County's longest serving councillor Michael Fahy (Ind) has regained his seat in the Loughrea district 35 years on from first taking a seat.

  • Share
  • Go To

Cllr Fahy was returned after the eight count along with Galway hurling committee chairman Joe Byrne (FG) and Loughrea's Shane Donnellan (FF).

Cllr Fahy joins fellow Independent Pat Hynes from the district, while both Fine Gael and Fianna Fail claimed three seats each with poll topper Gerry Finnerty and Ann Rabbitte swelling the party's total, while Michael 'Moegie' Maher and Jimmy McClearn both returned for Fine Gael.

Read More

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News