Sunday 22 October 2017

Castlebar: Count eight

Caroline Crawford

Caroline Crawford

FIVE councillors were elected on the eighth count in Castlebar tonight only for the Returning Officer to immediately order a recount.

Fine Gael candidates Cyril Burke, Henry Kenny and Fianna Fail's Blackie Gavin and Al McDonnell were all elected alongside Independent Frank Durcan following the elimination of the last remaining candidate Fine Gael's Brendan Heneghan.


However, Mr Heneghan, who was just 25 votes behind his nearest rival Blackie Gavin, requested and was granted a recount by returning officer John Condon which will take place tomorrow afternoon.


Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News