Tuesday 28 March 2017

Election 2016: Meet the 23 TDs who were elected on the first count

THE VOTES Are IN: Fianna Fail Leader Micheal Martin celebrates at the general election 2016 count at the City Hall in Cork. Photo: Chris Radburn
THE VOTES Are IN: Fianna Fail Leader Micheal Martin celebrates at the general election 2016 count at the City Hall in Cork. Photo: Chris Radburn
Róisín Shortall with Dara Baxter (2), son of her niece Sarah Baxter (on left) and her husband Séamus O’Byrne
CELEBRATIONS....Eoin O'Broin SF pictured with a box of Celebrations sweets.
Mary Butler topped the poll for Fianna Fáil in Waterford. Picture: Patrick Browne
Roisin Shorthall of the Social Democrats with her daughter Joanna O'Byrene at the count in the RDS yesterday.Pic Tom Burke 27/2/2/2016
Newly elected Thomas Byrne Credit: Gerry Mooney
Barry Cowen celebrates at the Offaly count, held in Banagher. Photograph: James Flynn/APX
Frances Fitzgerald at City West.
Senator Darragh O'Brien Photo: Conor McCabe Photography
Michael Healy-Rae, elected for Kerry South, outside Leinster House Credit: Tom Burke 20/1/2016
Willie O’Dea: sitting TD. Photo: Tom Burke
Social Democrats candidate Catherine Murphy. Photo: Tom Burke
Shane Cassells
Michael Lowry celebrates after he won the first seat at the Tipperary count center at the Presentation Secondary School in Thurles. Picture Credit : Frank Mc Grath 27/2/16
Taoiseach Enda Kenny is greeted by well-wishers as he arrives at the Royal Theatre in Castlebar, Co Mayo. Photo: PA
Election Count, Roscommon/Galway constituency. Independent Denis Naughten celebrates his win on first count. Photo: Brian Farrell
NEW FORCE: Social Democrats founders Stephen Donnelly (pictured), Roisin Shortall and Catherine Murphy all retained their seats, while Lucinda Creighton lost hers on the fifth count in Dublin Bay South

David Kearns

There might be a lot of uncertainty about who will lead the country when the 32rd Dáil convenes but one thing not in doubt is the popularity of Kerry’s first son Michael Healy-Rae, who scored the second highest vote in the history of the State.

And while Healy-Rae might have smashed the ballot box, he was far from the only candidate to cross the finish line on the first count.

Below is the list of 23 candidates who were elected without the need of transfers:

Michael Healy-Rae (Kerry/IND) - 20,378 votes

II Deputy 4 TB_6.jpg  

Stephen Donnelly (Wicklow/SD) - 14,348


Billy Kelleher (Cork North-Central/FF) - 14,286


Denis Naughten (Roscommon-Galway/IND) - 13,936


Seán Fleming (Laois/FF) - 13,626


Enda Kenny (Mayo/FG) - 13,318

IRISH Elec_127.jpg  

Michael Lowry (Tipperary/IND) - 13,064


Willie O'Dea (Limerick City/FF) - 12,999

13 NEWS II Dail 9 TB_9.jpg  

Charlie McConalogue (Donegal/FF) - 12,533


Heather Humphreys (Cavan-Monaghan/FG) - 12,391


Barry Cowen (Offaly/FF) - 12,366


Niall Collins (Limerick County/FF) - 12,276


Michael McGrath (Cork South-Central/FF) - 11,795


Robert Troy (Longford-Westmeath/FF) - 11,655


Micheal Martin (Cork South-Central/FF) - 11,346


Catherine Murphy (Kildare North/SD) - 11,108

PL14207921Catherine Murphy.jpg  

Darragh O'Brien (Dublin Fingal/FF) - 10,826


Thomas Byrne (Meath East/FF) - 10,818

II GM TByrne 5.jpg  

Mary Butler (Waterford/FF) - 10,603

IN Election Co_11.jpg  

Shane Cassells (Meath West/FF) - 10,585


Róisín Shortall (Dublin North-west/SD) - 10,540

LX RDS Count 62 T.jpg  

Eoin Ó Broin (Dublin Mid-West/SF) - 9,782


Frances Fitzgerald (Dublin Mid-West/FG) - 9,028 

lxcitywest 13.jpg  

Online Editors

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News