Friday 20 October 2017

Hollywood mourns James Gandolfini

James worked with Irish actress Saoirse Ronan on the 2011 movie Violet & Daisy.
James worked with Irish actress Saoirse Ronan on the 2011 movie Violet & Daisy.
A reserved sign sits on the booth where the last show of the HBO series 'The Sopranos' was filmed at Holsten's ice cream parlor, Bloomfield, New Jersey
Actress Olivia Wilde said she was "lucky" to have worked with him on The Incredible Burt Wonderstone
Steve Carell starred in The Incredible Burt Wonderstone with him
James Gandolfini and Susan Sarandon became close after filming together nearly 10 years ago
James won three Emmys for his role as Tony Soprano on the iconic HBO series

Celebrity tributes are pouring in for the beloved Sopranos actor on Twitter.

Olivia Wilde (@oliviawilde)

"James Gandolfini was a kind, funny, wonderful guy. I’m so lucky to have worked with him. Sending love to his family. Such a sad, sad day."


Susan Sarandon (@susansarandon)

"So sad to lose James Gandolfini. One of the sweetest, funniest, most generous actors I’ve ever worked with. Sending prayers to his family."


Damon Lindelof, producer (@damonlindelof)

 

"James Gandolfini. You created an icon. And you cut to black way too abruptly. Thank you, and rest in peace."


Rob Lowe (@roblowe)

"James Gandoldini gave the greatest performance in the history of television. He was also a kind man. Condolences to his family."


Josh Groban (@joshgroban)

"Thank you James Gandolfini for some of the most brilliant tv moments of all time. So sad!!!"


Senator John McCain (@SenJohnMcCain)

"RIP James Gandolfini, one of the nicest guys I’ve ever met."


Jonah Hill (@jonahhill)

"I’m truly heartbroken to hear that James Gandolfini has passed away. He is one of my all time favorite actors. Tragic loss."


Nancy Sinatra (nancysinatra)

"#JamesGandolfini So tragic. Heart breaking. Wonderful man and one of the finest actors who ever lived. Godspeed, Jim & thank you.


Jimy Kimmel (@jimmykimmel)
 

"I’m sadder about James Gandolfini than everyone else."


John Stamos (@JohnStamos)


"Chili Palmer: You any good? Bear: Am I any good? You were DAMN good Mr. Gandolfini and will be sorely missed. R.I.P."


Christina Applegate @1capplegate)

"I am so deeply saddened by the untimely passing of sweet James Gandolfini! My heart is broken for his family!! I’m in shock."

 

Jason O'Mara (@jason_omara)


"Gandolfini gone. What a tragic loss. Truly one of the greats. #RIP


Bette Midler (@BetteMidler)
 

"The great James Gandolfini passed away today. Only 51. I can’t believe it."

By Caitlin McBride

Online Editors

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment