Monday 24 April 2017

‘And the winner is’- The full list of winners at last night’s IFTAs

Liam Neeson at IFTA Awards 2016 at The Westbury Hotel & Mansion House, Dublin, Ireland where he was honoured with an Outstanding Contribution to Cinema Award
Liam Neeson at IFTA Awards 2016 at The Westbury Hotel & Mansion House, Dublin, Ireland where he was honoured with an Outstanding Contribution to Cinema Award Newsdesk Newsdesk

Lenny Abrahamson and Emma Donoghue’s Room had a thoroughly successful evening at the Irish Film and Television Awards last night, scooping up five awards, including Best Film at the annual event.

Oscar-nominee Saoirse Ronan was honoured with a Best Actress Award at last night’s ceremony, for her performance in Brooklyn, while Michael Fassbender was named Best Actor for his role in Steve Jobs.

A-Lister Liam Neeson was presented with an Outstanding Contribution to Cinema Award by President Michael D. Higgins, which honoured his hugely successful career in both Irish and international cinema.

Jack Reynor was pictured beaming with his gong at the ceremony’s after party, where he was celebrating his Best Supporting Actor win for his role in Sing Street.

Director Lenny Abrahamson was celebrating another win, as he was honoured with an IFTA for Room, which saw him nominated for an Oscar earlier this year.

TG4 series An Klondike was also a big winner at last night's awards scooping four awards including Best Drama and a Best Actor in a Lead Role in Drama for Dara Devaney.

Best Film


Room (Winner)


Sing Street

The Survivalist


My Name is Emily


Actor in a Lead Role Film


Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs (Winner)

Colin Farrell- The Lobster

Domhnall Gleeson- Ex Machina

Martin McCann- The Survivalist


Actress in a Lead Role Film

US Oscars 14_4.jpg

Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn (Winner)

Ruth Bradley- Pursuit

Orla Brady- The Price of Desire

Evanna Lynch- My Name is Emily

Eva Birthistle- Swansong


Actor in a Supporting Role Film


Jack Reynor – Sing Street (Winner)

Domhnall Gleeson- Brooklyn

Sean T. Ó Meallaigh – The Callback Queen

Michael Smiley – My Name is Emily

Owen Roe – Pursuit


Actress in a Supporting Role Film


Jane Brennan – Brooklyn (Winner)

Gemma-Leah Devereux – Get Up and Go

Olwen Fouéré – The Survivalist

Siobhan O’Kelly – An Klondike

Ger Ryan – The Callback Queen


Director Film


Lenny Abrahamson –Room (Winner)

Paddy Breathnach -Viva

John Carney -Sing Street

John Crowley -Brooklyn

Stephen Fingleton -The Survivalist


Script Film


Emma Donoghue – Room (Winner)

Simon Fitzmaurice – My Name is Emily

Mark O’Halloran – Viva

Johnny O’Reilly – Moscow Never Sleeps

John Carney – Sing Street


Short Film


Stutterer – (Winner)

Change in the Weather

Ernestine and Kit

The Great Wide Open

How Was Your Day?

Love is a Sting




An Klondike (Winner)

Game of Thrones S5

Penny Dreadful S2




Actor in a Lead Role in Drama

Dara Devaney -An Klondike (Winner)

Colin Farrell -True Detective

Stepehn Rea-Dickensian

Aidan Turner-Poldark

Barry Ward- Rebellion


Actress in a Lead Role Drama


Ruth Bradley – Rebellion (Winner)

Caitriona Balfe – Outlander

Elaine Cassidy -No Offence

Sarah Greene – Rebellion

Catherine Walker -Critical


Actor in a Supporting Role in Drama

Moe Dunford -Vikings (Winner)

Liam Cunningham – Game of Thrones S5

Ned Dennehy – Dickensian

Robert O’Mahoney – An Klondike

Stephen Rea – War and Peace


Actress in a Supporting Role in Drama


Sarah Greene – Penny Dreadful (Winner)

Michelle Fairly – Rebellion

Paula Malcomson – Ray Donovan

Ruth Negga- Marvel Agents of S.H.I.E.LD

Victoria Smurfit – Once Upon a Time


Director Drama

Neasa Hardiman – Happy Valley (Winner)

Anthony Byrne – Ripper Street S4

Dathai Keane – An Klondike

Brian Kirk – Penny Dreadful 2

Aisling Walsh – An Inspector Calls


Script Drama

Marcus Fleming – An Klondike




Cathal Watters– Viva




Nathan Nugent – Room

Dg room.jpg  


Production Design

Tom Conroy – Legend


Costume Design

Joan Bergin – Vikings


Make-Up & Hair Sponsored By M.A.C

An Klondike


Original Music

Stephen Rennicks – Room






The Frankenstein Chronicles


Rising Star

Stephen Fingleton


International Film



International Actor

Leonardo Di Caprio – The Revenant


International Actress

Brie Larson – Room


Online Editors

Promoted articles

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment