Entertainment Books

Wednesday 1 October 2014

Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Award Winners

Published 02/12/2013 | 02:30

  • Share
PEN PALS: Winners Benji Bennett and Derek Landy

The winners

  • Share
  • Go To

Eason Novel of the Year:

The Guts by Roddy Doyle (Jonathan Cape)

RTE Radio 1’ s John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award:

Staring At Lakes: A Memoir Of Love , Melancholy and Magical Thinking by Mi chael Harding (Hachette Ireland)

Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year:

The Doll’ s House by Louise Phillips (Hachette Ireland)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year:

The Herbalist by Niamh Boyce (Penguin Ireland)

Avonmore Cookbook of the Year:

30 Years at Ballymaloe by Darina Allen (Kyle Books)

National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year:

Staring At Lakes: A Memoir Of Love , Melancholy and Magical Thinking by Michael Harding (Hachette Ireland)

International Education Services Popular Fiction Book of the Year:

Downturn Abbey by Ross O’Carroll-Kelly (Penguin Ireland)

Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award

John Banville

RTÉ Television Sports Book of the Year:

Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh (Simon and Schuster)

Writing.ie Short Story of the Year:

The Things We Lose, Th e Things We Leave Behind by Billy O’Callaghan (T he Things We Lose, the Things We Leave Behind & Other Short Stories, New Island Books)

Bord Gáis Energy Book shop of the Year:

The Clifden Book shop, Clifden, Co Galway

Best Irish Published Book of the Year:

A History of Ireland in 100 Objects by Fintan O’ Toole (Royal Irish Academy)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year:

JUNIOR: When You We re Born by Benji Bennett (AdamsPrinting Press)

SENIOR Skulduggery Pleasant: Last Stand of Dead Men by Derek Landy (Harper Collins)

Sunday Independent

Read More

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment