Wednesday 26 November 2014

Want to hide but not offend? Twitter introduces mute feature

Rhiannon Williams

Published 13/05/2014 | 13:34

Muted users will not receive a notification telling them you've muted them
Muted users will not receive a notification telling them you've muted them

Annoying tweets clogging up your feed will soon become a thing of the past, as Twitter introduces a new mute feature.

App and web users can now choose to mute users, meaning their tweets and retweets will no longer appear in your home timeline, but they'll still be able to favourite, reply to, and retweet your tweets, unlike blocking or deleting them.

The muted users will not receive a notification telling them you've muted them, and you can unmute them at any time.

You can begin the muting process by selecting 'more', and then mute @username. To mute someone from their profile page, tap the gear icon on the page and choose mute @username.

The mute feature will be rolled out to all global users in the next few weeks.

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

Editors Choice

Also in Business