Friday 30 September 2016

Flickr best free feature will now cost you

Daniel Anderson

Published 09/03/2016 | 09:49

Flickr
Flickr

Flickr introduced a handy photo uploading tool last year which was free for all users and now it will be behind a pay wall

  • Go To

In case you don't know, Flickr is one of the biggest names in photo sharing out there. The site has been in operation since 2004 and offers a place for photographers of any level to create their online portfolio with albums and groups and social interaction where other users can like and comment and share their opinions and advice.

It's a strong community and one that has continued thanks to the ability to upload full resolution version of your photos (something that's still fairly rare online - beware storying your snaps on Facebook) and a range of other features. Last year, the service also introduced a new look (finally!) as well as a dedicated Uploadr facility which could automatically scan your hard drive and sync your snaps.

Uploadr was a powerful and easy to use tool, and was also free for every person on Flickr, regardless of whether they were a free or Pro user. Sadly, that's no longer the case. In a blog post, the company has stated that the desktop Auto-Uploadr will soon be available only to Pro subscribers.

As one of the defining features of the free Flickr experience, it's a strange move to make and one that's likely intended to encourage more people to make the move to Pro. A yearly subscription costs 50 quid and you get a range of extras including unlimited photo and video storage, an ad free experience plus advanced stats on your photos. It's all good stuff, but it's hard to imagine that more casual users will be interested in those features, especially at that price.

If you do want to sign up to Pro, Flickr is offering 30% off for a limited time with the coupon code FLICKRPRO30. More info here.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editors Choice

Also in Business