Sunday 11 December 2016

Snapchat launches new save function for photos, videos

Published 07/07/2016 | 09:51

The Snapchat logo
The Snapchat logo

Snapchat announced a new feature that enables users to save and share their content, a big change for the popular social messaging app widely used for sending photos and videos that disappear in a day.

  • Go To

The new feature, called "Memories," is an album within the app where users can save photos and videos which they can later upload to their "Story," a slide show of contents that disappears after 24 hours. Until now, photos and videos had to be immediately uploaded after being recorded.

Read more: How to tell if someone has blocked you on Snapchat

The move could signal that Snapchat, known for immediacy, spontaneity and simplicity, is taking a shot at more mainstream social networks like Facebook.

Read more: Is Snapchat more popular than TV? It's certainly on its way

In recent years Snapchat added advertising and sponsored contents as the company's valuation grew to around $18 billion.

Its user base has also gotten older, with nearly 40 percent of users now aged between 25 - 34 in the United States. About 14 percent of users are above 35, according to digital measurer comScore.

"It's fun to celebrate an anniversary or birthday by finding a few old snaps and stringing them together into a new story," Snapchat said in the announcement made on its blog on Wednesday.

 Snapchat has 150 million daily users, according to a Bloomberg report last month, surpassing Twitter, which has less than 140 million daily users.

Reuters

Read More

Promoted articles

Editors Choice

Also in Business