Business Technology

Sunday 4 December 2016

Facebook tracks its users even when they are logged off the website – specialist

Independent.ie reporters

Published 26/09/2011 | 13:03

Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg. Photo: Getty Images
Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg. Photo: Getty Images

Facebook continues to trace its users even after they have logged off the site, according to an Australian specialist.

  • Go To

The discovery has led to fears of oversharing as the company’s profits improve the more users it decides to share.



According to Nik Cubrilovic, who concluded tests, when a user logs out of Facebook, instead of deleting its tracking cookies, the site modifies them, which means that account information and other information is maintained.



And whenever a user visits a web page that contains a Facebook button, the browser is still sending debt of his or her movements back to Facebook.



In addition, it has emerged that the company’s new Timeline feature, contains a feature that allows users to see who removed them from their friend’s lists.



Read More

Promoted articles

Editors Choice

Also in Business