Facebook threatens to delete your photos unless you download app
Published 13/06/2016 | 10:59
FACEBOOK is threatening to delete synced photos unless users download an app.
Recently the social media site warned that it would be disabling messaging within its web application and recommended the downloading the Messenger app.
Now Facebook is forcing users to download photo-sharing app Moments stating that otherwise synced photos will be deleted.
As a result of the warning, there was a surge in the downloading of the Moments app as it climbed to the top of the App Store rankings as well as the "Free iPhone Apps".
According to TechCrunch, prior to the warning the Moments app was ranked between 90 and 100.
The Facebook warning said that it is going to delete synced photos and albums unless the app is installed by July 7.
The Facebook warning states: “ We wanted to let you know that photos you privately synced from your phone to Facebook will be deleted soon. Earlier this year, they were moved to Moments, a new app from Facebook.
If you want to keep your (number of photos), download Moments and log in before Jul 7. If you don’t want Moments, you can also download these photos directly to your computer from your Facebook profile. Otherwise, they’ll be deleted. This won’t affect photos or videos you’ve shared on Facebook.
Moments lets you organize and privately share photos with friends. It’s free on iOS and Android."