Sunday 23 November 2014

Redknapp furious with officials

Published 27/12/2012 | 06:45

Harry Redknapp was fuming with the officials after QPR went down to West Brom

Harry Redknapp launched a stinging attack on referee Chris Foy and his two assistants after QPR sunk to the bottom of the Barclays Premier League with a controversial 2-1 defeat to West Brom.

Chris Brunt put Albion ahead with a 30-yard strike before Robert Green went to collect a looping ball coming down from the heavens off Armand Traore, but was impeded on the line by Baggies striker Marc-Antoine Fortune, who leaned in to the goalkeeper and he duly dropped the ball in to his own net.

QPR's players protested furiously, but Foy let the goal stand and Redknapp, who also thought Rangers should have had a penalty, said: "I think they were awful decisions. I think the ref got it completely wrong."

The hosts pulled one back through Djibril Cisse and they piled on the pressure, with Redknapp thinking his team should have had a penalty in the dying minutes of the encounter at Loftus Road when Liam Ridgewell clearly handled Stephane Mbia's header in the West Brom box.

Redknapp added: "It was a blatant foul (on Green). How can the keeper play the ball when a fella' is backing him over the line? He can't get around him. If he pushes him over or out the way it's a penalty.

"I asked the linesman how did he not see the penalty. Ridgewell's hand was up there, it's the most blatant handball and he couldn't see it. The linesman said it was murky down in that corner and he couldn't see it, maybe he should go to Specsavers or somewhere."

West Brom boss Steve Clarke insisted Fortune did not wrongfully impede the England stopper, however.

"I didn't think it was a foul," said the Scot, whose side remain in the hunt for at least a top-five place thanks to the win. "I just saw the ball go up and then in the net. I was confused. I've seen it on the video and I don't think he has done a lot wrong.

"I didn't think it was much of a foul to be honest.

"And with the penalty appeal if it hadn't have hit his hand it would have hit his face so I think it's the correct decision."

Press Association

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

Editors Choice

Also in this section